The St. Francis College Literary Prize--for a fourth book of fiction--deadline Juy 1

The St. Francis College Literary Prize is designed for a fourth published book of fiction. To submit, please send six copies of the work to:

Ian S. Maloney
Academic Dean’s Office
St. Francis College
180 Remsen Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Inquiries can be made via email at: (replace (at) with @)

Deadline for submission: July 1, 2009

The award for the prize is $50,000. The award winner is expected to come to campus in Fall 2009 to deliver a talk on his/her work and read selections from the book submitted. The award recipient is also asked to teach a short mini-workshop in fiction to qualified students at St. Francis College. The decision of the jury is final. Submission copies are not returnable.

Jury: Michael Chabon, Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Ben Marcus, and Ayelet Waldman

Frequently Asked Questions:

Is it an annual award?

The SFC Literary Prize will be a biannual prize. It will be offered again in 2011.

What are the publication dates for eligible books?

Currently the jury will consider books published from January 2008 until July 2009.

What about self-published books?

Self-published books will be considered for award consideration.

Are translated books eligible?
Yes, works in English translation will be considered.

Can the book include previously published material?

When will you announce the award?
A short list will be=2
0announced in mid-August. The winner will be announced at the Brooklyn Book Festival on September 13, 2009.

Is this a permanent jury?
The jury is only for this award cycle.

No comments: