The Calvino Prize--Prose--deadline Oct 15

The Calvino Prize
Submission Guidelines 


Submit up to 25 industry standard (double-spaced, 12-point font, pages numbered) pages of a novel, novella, short story, or short collection. Entries which use a smaller font or are single-spaced in order to make a longer work appear to be only 25 pages will be trimmed to approximately 25 industry standard pages. Work previously published is eligible and simultaneous submissions are accepted. An excerpt from a larger work is allowed; however, remember that the selection will be judged on its own merit and so should be able to stand on its own. 

Please submit TWO copies of your submission bound by a paper clip, binder, or single staple. DO NOT USE MULTIPLE STAPLES. The author's name should not appear on the work. All entries will be read anonymously. 

Please send two cover pages: one listing only the title of the manuscript; the other listing the title, author's name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address.

Please tell us in what magazine you learned of this contest.

Please do not send publication history of the author.

Submit anytime between July 1 and October 15, 2009.
Deadline: October 15, 2009.  
Winner announced December 15, 2009.

The entry fee is $25 and should be made payable to: The University of Louisville.

Mailing Address:

The Calvino Prize
English Department
Room 315, Bingham Humanities Bldg.
University of Louisville
Louisville,  KY  40292
If you would like confirmation of receipt of manuscript, please enclose a self-addressed, stamped standard US Postal Service post card.

All results will be posted to the University of Louisville's website following the announcement on December 15, 2009. Finalists and winners will be notified via email. 

For questions, email Paul Griner, Director of Creative Writing at pfgrin01(at)louisville.edu (replace (at) with @)

Faculty and employees of the University of Louisville and the University of Syracuse may not enter the contest.

The judges reserve the right to withhold the award if no entry is deemed worthy.

Previous first place winners may not enter for three years after winning.  Second place winners have no restrictions.

Final Judge 2009: Harold Bloom

No comments: