Oregon Literary Fellowships (Deadline June 27)

Oregon Literary Fellowships provide financial support to writers and independent publishers in Oregon. The submission deadlines for 2008 is June 27, 2008. The minimum award amount is $2,500. Recipients will be announced in January, 2009.

Applications and guidelines are available at the Literary Arts web site, www.literary-arts.org, or by contacting Susan Denning at susan@literary-arts.org or 503-227-2583. Fellowships are awarded in poetry, fiction, literary nonfiction, drama and young readers literature. There is no charge to apply for an Oregon Literary Fellowship.

Since 1988, Literary Arts has awarded more than $500,000 in fellowships and grants to Oregon writers and publishers. With this support, many writers have completed works that have received Oregon Book Awards as well as national recognition. In 2007, Literary Arts established the Oregon Writers' Endowment-a new, permanent source of funds for writers that will allow the organization to distribute a significant amount of fellowships on an annual basis.

The Oregon Literary Fellowships program is sponsored by the C. Hamilton Bailey Endowment, Betty Bradshaw, Leslie Bradshaw Endowment, The Collins Foundation, John & Julie Dixon, Friends of the Lake Oswego Library/Booktique, Gray Family Fund of The Oregon Community Foundation, Edna L. Holmes Fund of The Oregon Community Foundation, Jackson Foundation, The Ruth Manary Fund of The Samuel S. Johnson Foundation, Mancini Family, Maybelle Clark Macdonald Fund, Walt Morey Endowment, Oregon Arts Commission, Oregon Writers' Endowment, Regional Arts & Culture Council, Ralph L. Smith Foundation, Rose E. Tucker Charitable Trust, U.S. Bank, Women Writers Fellowship Endowment and the Wyss Foundation.

No comments: